Author Topic: Express + Lynx Dongle + Vixen - no blinky flashy?  (Read 4178 times)

Offline Opopanax

Okay, I'm at my wits end. I've spent the last few days searching the wiki and the boards and I simply do not know what to do.

This is my first time ever with light animation so I'm sure I"m missing something simple

I have my lynxx board all put together. I ran the test and it works great! Blinky and flashy! Yay!

I have my lynxx dongle setup and I get both red and green LEDs light up. I even managed to program my PIC after much reading.

Then I got Vixen Setup. I'm using the Entec USb plugin. DMX add=in is unchecked, I'm using Com1 which is matched in device manager and Vixen.

I can play the sequence, but I get no blinky or flashy.

So I have the USB to Dongle. Dongle has Cat5 going to the Lynx DMX in spot. The board is on and I have the channel set to 1 (right? Set it to the first channel that'll be used by the board).

Everything is powered. I hit play sequence. It starts -- but nothing happens. The channel LED lights don't light up.

What am I missing?

Offline rrowan

• Administrator
Re: Express + Lynx Dongle + Vixen - no blinky flashy?
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2011, »
If you only see Com1 then I am guessing you didn't install the FTDI drivers or you are not selecting the right com port. Normally windows takes com 1 for a serial port even if its not there.

Rick R.
Light Animation Hobby - Having fun and Learning at the same time. (21st member of DLA)
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
Warning SOME assembly required

Offline shaunkad

« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2011, »
I have the same problem using com4 settings match dmx unpluged.  I can test the channels with vixen. However if I create a random sequence in vixen and hit play nothing happens vixen ignores my comand. 

Offline rrowan

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2011, »