Author Topic: EtherDongle Pixelnet and DMX  (Read 777 times)

Offline dridas

EtherDongle Pixelnet and DMX
« on: November 20, 2011, »
Hey guys! 

Had a question on the EtherDongle, Pixelnet and DMX. Forgive my ignorance, and I'm sure the question has been answered before, just I can't seem to find it.

So the EtherDongle carries DMX data and Pixelnet, I'm just not sure "how" it does it.

I'm relatively new to the world of light animation, and hoping to get 4 of the LynxExpress PCB's in the current Coop. I also have 2 USBDongle PCB's, but not sure if I should put them together.  I essentially started planning for next year, since I jumped in right after Halloween.

Alright, on to the question-  Does the EtherDongle 'natively' carry DMX data, or does it just output the data from a USBDongle? 

Correct me if I'm wrong anywhere, please. As I understand it- I can connect the EtherDongle anywhere on my home network. I have 2 routers in my house, opposite corners, with one Cat5e cable running between them. So getting the Cat5E cable outside is relatively easy.  If I connect the EtherDongle to the network, I can then connect the LynxExpress to the DMX output of the EtherDongle, and then daisy-chain my LynxExpresses in the yard where I want them??

Essentially, that eliminates the need for a USBDongle?  Just have to make sure the EtherDongle has the correct firmware for carrying both PixelNet and DMX?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Offline rrowan

• Administrator
Re: EtherDongle Pixelnet and DMX
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2011, »
The EtherDongle has two firmware version. One is Pixelnet and the other is DMX you can not load both at the same time.

If you need both then you load pixelnet and then you need the SS Hub to mirror out the DMX channels.