Author Topic: Pic Programming  (Read 1853 times)

Offline cakeez

Pic Programming
« on: December 01, 2011, »
Just got my Pickit2 in the mail today. Realized I bout the debug version instead of the Starter Kit. So where do I go from here? I want to program my own but need some help getting started. Is there a board that I can buy that will be setup to program both the SSR4's and Express chips? or do I need multiple boards? Kind of new to everything, but I write computer apps for a living, never had to write my code to a chip before though.

Thanks,
Chuck

Offline rrowan

• Administrator
Re: Pic Programming
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2011, »
You really don't need the starter kit to program pics. What you need is the boards to put the pics in to program them.

The dongle and SSR4 pics i.e.: pic18f2450 (dongle) and pic18f1220 (ssr4) need programmer boards. The Express does not need one unless you really want one.

Most members buy the boards from j1.sys You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

You could get the whole kit of boards or just one that fits the two pics I listed above. Beware that the etherdongle requires the pickit3 since the pickit2 doesn't support that pic.

Hope that helps

Rick R.
Light Animation Hobby - Having fun and Learning at the same time. (21st member of DLA)
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
Warning SOME assembly required

Offline sadkisson

« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2011, »
i purchased a pickit3 it came with a board but to be honest i have no idea what chip fits into what board.  i do see that most of the new lynx kits have icsp clips already on the board them selves so no need for a programming board im assuming.  i do plan on getting some ssr4 kits eventually tho.  it would be nice to have icsp clips on all lynx equipment just for the fact all one would need then is a pickit3

Offline rrowan

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2011, »