Author Topic: Dongle issue  (Read 2441 times)

Offline mitch09

Dongle issue
« on: December 03, 2011, »
I am posting here since I believe this to be a dongle issue. I am in my second year of animation and am having some problems. I have a ver.1 dongle(worked fine last year) connected to a LE that tests fine and has the latest firmware. I have tried RJ's DMX deck and selected the correct COM port that the dongle is on. When I adjust the sliders=nothing. I even tried reprogramming the dongle pic to no avail. I have swapped  pic chips in the dongle as well as usb and cat5 cables. Nothing seems to work. My computer is running Windows 7 with .net 3.5 and it sees the dongle when plugged in and assigns it COM3.

Any Ideas? What am I forgetting to do?

Offline KeithTarpley

• Administrator
Re: Dongle issue
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2011, »
Greetings,,,

Is the LE the only thing you have tested it with?

Keith
"Now I know the only foe is time." -Moody Blues

Offline rrowan

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2011, »
Make sure you are using dmx firmware

On the LE try a different RS-485 chip (the on to the right of the RJ-45 jacks is the input RS-485)
try another cat5 cable (make sure its a normal one and Not a crossover)

If that doesn't help then swap out the RS-485 in the dongle is the chip closest to the RJ-45 jack

Rick R.
Light Animation Hobby - Having fun and Learning at the same time. (21st member of DLA)
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
Warning SOME assembly required

Offline mitch09

« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2011, »
Ok, so I tried switch 485 chips on both the LE and the dongle to no avail. I have tried both of my two LEs from last year that were working when I put them away. I have also tried switch cat5 cables and still nothing. The data light does come on on both LEs when the cat5 is plugged into both the DMX in and DMX out2 ports. I am really at a loss as to what the problem is. I am even running the same laptop.

Ryan