Author Topic: Help with powering movement.  (Read 2273 times)

Offline typoagain

Help with powering movement.
« on: December 15, 2011, »
I am really excited about where our hobby is headed. So many new things coming out and so many possibilities!

I am fairly new to this and last year was the first year for animated lighting. But I have never wanted a display with tens of thousands of lights. What I want is a display that is uniquely mine. I want a display that is made of elements that you can’t just run out to target and buy. Animation is the direction I have wanted to go in, so the new control board is exactly what I have been looking for.

I can handle the fabrication items. I can do the welding, wiring, software, design,…just about all of it. What I don’t know I can generally find online and learn fairly easily.

All but a couple of things. I don’t fully understand powering the actual movement. I need to learn a lot more about using servos, wiper motors and other small motors.  I can deal with 440v 3ph 40 hp blower motors. I have even assembled vacuum systems that stacked a dozen 12” impellers on 30 hp motors. But I am totally lost with small frame motors and servos.

No matter where I look I can’t find information on choosing the right servo. How do I know how much torque it will take to move an object? How do I know which serve will supply the correct amount? I don’t want to spend a ton of time building something just to find that it burns out servos because the servos are too small. But at the same time I don’t want to run the cost of a display element through the roof by installing oversize servos.

I understand how to use PWM for controlling the speed of a wiper motor. But how do I control exactly where it stops at? I know this can’t be that hard to do because every car on the road built in the last 50 years does it, I I’ll be damned if I can figure out how to do it!