Author Topic: Is the xlights scheduler dynamic?  (Read 2431 times)

Offline jnealand

• Patron Member
Is the xlights scheduler dynamic?
« on: December 18, 2011, »
By this question I mean does it load a sequence at the time that it will be playing it or are the sequences preloaded when the scheduler starts.  I am always tweaking my sequences.  I will watch a show and realize that one section of a particular sequence is a little off kilter.  I go back to my sequencing (vixen) computer, make my changes, copy them to my show computer, then have to stop the show and restart it to get my changed sequence to play.  What I would like to be able to do is just copy the changed sequence and have it dynamically picked up at the next rotation in the show.  For me this would be a great selling point to switch to xlights.  I have been using the vixen scheduler for 3 years with no problems other than those caused by my rushing to do things.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA

Offline lineman

• Coop Manager
Re: Is the xlights scheduler dynamic?
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2011, »
I am not sure if that will work while the show is runnin but I have changed things on my seq. in vixen and then copy it in xlight folder it ask if you want to replace old seq . I would believe you could you might have to add it back to the playlist since it would be a new seq. but not sure
Jeff

Offline Sparky96

« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2011, »
I have actually tweaked a sequence of mine and need to update my show computer with the file. I can try it late tonight and see what happens. I'm not sure I want to try it at the beginning of the show in fear it would shut it all down for a little while.

Dave

Offline dowdybrown

• Gleannloch Christmas
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2011, »
xLights does not preload files. So you can update your sequences any time.

Matt
Matt Brown
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline Rainlover

• Coop Admin
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2011, »