Author Topic: new to the hobby and need to know what software to download?  (Read 5427 times)

Offline duane.mosley

• hearthstonelights.com
i am new to the hobby and i need to know which software to get started with? DMXControl 2.10? or Vixen 2.1.1.0 ?

thanks
duane
Florence, KY

facebook.com/hearthstonelights

Offline Beanbag109

• "If I bulid it, it will flash and blink"
Good question.

I too am new, and it seems to me that many here use Vixen. That is what I plan on using, due to the HUGE knowledge base here.

Just my two cents...

Mike,
Colorado

Offline Steve Gase

• WinterLightShow in Georgetown, TX
You'll see a number of discussions about software in the forum... debates about what is better.

LightShow Pro is considered by some to be expensive, but if you are trying to manage thousands (!) of channels, the value is there.
Vixen is good, and it is free.

LOR (LightORama) is more closed in the options it supports, but if you have LOR hardware and you are considering adding DMX to that setup, LOR still is a valid choice.

Your mention of DMXControl is the first I've seen.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login  |  110K channels, 50K lights  |  Nutcracker, Falcon, DLA, HolidayCoro

Offline Opopanax

This Christmas season was my first year and I used Vixen. I would highly recommend it for someone starting out for two reasons.

1. It's free (lowers your first year expenses)
2. It works:)

There were a few things that I found out halfway through my first sequence that would make things easier.

1. Adjustable preview (plugin) allows you to insert a picture (house, yard etc) and put colored squares for every channel you're using. Helps give you an idea of what it looks like
2. You can "virtually" change the channels. You sequence something on Channel 4, but accidentally plugged the lights on your roof to Channel 6? No problem. You can move your "Channel 4" to output on Channel 6. No re-sequencing required