Author Topic: Noobie Needing clarification  (Read 6355 times)

Offline AlanS

Noobie Needing clarification
« on: January 11, 2012, »
Hello,

Okay here it goes. I'm a noob to all this blinky, flashy stuff. I have been reading allot of postings but some things are a bit fuzzy still. I just want to make sure I have this right.

1 Computer - going to be running Vixen this year unless someone tell convinces me that LSP will save me hundreds of hours. if I pony up to get it.

2- Here's the fuzzy part. From the computer USB I will need a "Dongle". I get that so far. But can I use a "Pixelnet EtherDongle" instead of a Dongle? or must i have a Dongle regardless?

3. From the Dongle I have 3 choices.
   a. I can go with Cat5 and plug in from the Dongle to the first Lynx Express and then 1 to 2, 2 to 3, etc.
   b. I can go with wireless where I would need one (1) Wireless(TX/RX) and a Express Receiver (EX/RX) for each of the LE I have.
   c. A combo of both Wired and wireless.

4. For the controllers this year I think I will just be using the LE. As I understand the Transformer is not available for the SSR4. So even though I may have wanted to go with the Lifestyle and SSR4 or just a couple SSR4-DMX. That is not a option at this point due to the transformer part.

5. For the lights I am using a mix of incans and LEDs. I guess the question here is how many watts would I be able to put on a LE Channel safely? I know that each string is different. The largest incan string I have is a set of 300 Blue high density icicles. The box says not to connect more then 2 strings together 2 set=210 watts. Is this a safe amount for 1 channel. if yes would it still be safe to run this much power on 8 channels of the same LE?

6. For the extention cords will be using spt2 with vampires.