Author Topic: A proposed sequence builder for rgb megatrees. meighan.net/seqbuilder/index.php  (Read 14550 times)

Offline smeighan

• Patron Member
    • Nutcracker RGB Sequence Builder
I am new to all of this. I have only used the Mr Christmas 6 channel light controllers from Home Depot. Over the next year i plan on getting 6 Lynx express, some of the smart strings and build a mega tree,

I want to have various patterns on my megatree next Christmas.

I prototype d a web page and wondered if anyone has done this before?

I modeled the tree with a cone and have various effects (spiraling lines, vertical lines, cross hatched lines,fireworks, text, stars, .etc.) The models are stored as an animated gif. I then built a model of the megatree, 16 segments, 60 pixels each segment. As the math model runs it projects the data onto the model of the tree. I have paramaters for changing the length of the sequence and for changing the models.

I next want to export the sequence as an xml file to import into lsp/vixen.

I plan on the web page allowing you to select which animation model you want ( radio buttons will allow selecting as many as i have in the gallery) and then projecting the animation onto the model of the tree.

i could also build other targets. i was thinking , for example, of modeling a snowman made of rgb strings. or a wall of strings. By separating the math models from the target physical models i think i will be able to get some interesting effects.

so ...
am i duplicating some tool that already exists?
where can i find out the format for the xml file i would need to create to import into vixen?

thanks
sean

BTW, this Christmas my 10 yo sons and i built some 9 ' tall nutcrackers. I plan on adding lights to them next year. We captured the plans of how to build them if anyone might be interested.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

« Last Edit: January 23, 2012, by smeighan »
Sean
Littleton, CO