Author Topic: RoboHead  (Read 4704 times)

Offline thestig

RoboHead
« on: January 27, 2012, »
I am looking into building scaled up version of the robohead for halloween. You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login (click the link with the moving,singing head on the right)

I am thinking much bigger like a 5ft X 5ft face made out of pvc and wirefence (like how I built my singing pumpkins). Anyways servos are obviously out of the question due to the size of this thing. What do you guys think about double action pnuematic cylinders. One for the pan and one for the tilt?

Is there a way to control this by DMX?

I am very new to this, but plan to start making progress once I find a way that is doable.

Thanks for any help.

Grant

Offline Night Owl

Re: RoboHead
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2012, »
What were you thinking about using as the valve to operate the cylinder?  Have you tried looking at some of the DIY Halloween sites?

Offline caretaker

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2012, »
Short answer yes.... Pneumatic valves use a simple solenoid system to operate a valve (open or closed) so you could use a MR16 to control the valves (as long as the current the valve needed wasn't over the MAX MR16 current).  When designing animatronics weight becomes a big issue (the more weight the higher the cost of the animatronic.) as servos a relativity cheap when moving light loads but when you get to moving bigger loads the price skyrockets. Using pneumatics lowers the cost of animating a heavier object but the trade off is you sacrifice the ability for fine control of movement. One thing to keep in mind when designing your animatronic is that the control device (servo or pneumatic cylinder) doesn't have to be right next to what you want to control, you can use control cables and locate the control device in a base or somewhere more convenient to your design. 
Jeff Squires
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline wwwgator

• S.E. WI