Author Topic: new to servos  (Read 3025 times)

Offline chrisatpsu

• ahhh, yes... my new blink-i-nator 3000!!!
new to servos
« on: February 20, 2012, »
how do you guys determine what a servo can handle as far as weight of the piece being moved?

i'm new to servos, and the only one I have is the one you get when you get a Parallax Basic Stamp Kit. I'm wondering if i can use that some way.

do you guys get special servos that can be outside? if not, how do you waterproof the servo?
To rule the entire tri-state area!  What's that? Perry the Platypus!!!

Offline JonB256

• My website
Re: new to servos
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2012, »
Servos have Torque ratings. The number of ounces/grams they can move, usually at the farthest hole from the center shaft. Exceeding that value will cause excess wear and eventual failure. Counter-balancing and counter-weighting help a lot, but don't ignore the MASS of an item just because there won't be any apparent weight. The more mass there is, the slower you can move it. (a body at rest ..... )

You could waterproof with brush on Liquid Electrical Tape. Maybe even CorrosionX. But, the shaft will always be open. They may make some with an O-Ring seal, but I've never seen them. These are very low voltage, so water damage will be due to corrosion more than electrical arcs and sparks.

Offline maffeirw

• Patron Member
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2012, »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
do you guys get special servos that can be outside? if not, how do you waterproof the servo?

Most hobby servos are water resistance to a point. Remember that these servos are used in RC airplanes, cars and boats, all which are subject to exterior weather conditions.  As long as the servos are enclosed (in the skull or animated head) you should have no problems.  If the servo is directly exposed to water take a look at the following link.

Luceat lux vestra

Offline tbone321

« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2012, »