Author Topic: Bobcat DMX tester won't do... Anything?  (Read 2469 times)

Offline crazybob

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
Bobcat DMX tester won't do... Anything?
« on: April 12, 2012, »
Hey all-

I finally got my tester assembled. Assembly went well, I've put together many expresses and never had a problem, so I figures this device shouldn't be much harder. No problems during assembly, and I'm due I did everything right. However, when I turn it on it does nothing. No number display lighting up. I checked battery polarity, everything looks good, including correct polarity to the board. I cant seem to figure it out. What's the best way to troubleshoot this?
I'm assuming the chips came pre-programmed in the coop, right?

Offline bisquit476

  • Patron Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 873
Re: Bobcat DMX tester won't do... Anything?
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2012, »
I don't know about the programing Bob, but there is special hex files for the tester, and the wireless xmitter, you may check that if you can,

Bill

Offline rm357

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1282
  • 31088
Bobcat DMX tester won't do... Anything?
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2012, »
You need to load the firmware.
If I remember correctly my PICs were blank. If they weren't, they got erased and reprogrammed anyway...

Do you have a pickit? The pickit 2 will do, but if you have to buy one, you should get a pickit 3. The pickit 3 is required to program the etherdongle.
Robert
Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

Offline MrChristmas2000

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1112
Re: Bobcat DMX tester won't do... Anything?
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2012, »
No

The PIC did not come programmed.

You have to have a PIC Kit 3 or equivalent programmer to program it.

Once it is programmed it will work like a champ.

I don't think any PICs are coming programmed anymore.

Offline dlhoppe

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 261
Re: Bobcat DMX tester won't do... Anything?
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2012, »
A PIC Kit 2 will work as well.

Offline crazybob

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
Bobcat DMX tester won't do... Anything?
« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2012, »
That would explain it. They have come programmed in the express coops, so I assumed this was the same. I have a pickit 3, so i can program it myself. Can you damage anything by applying power without the chips programmed?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Offline bisquit476

  • Patron Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 873
Re: Bobcat DMX tester won't do... Anything?
« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2012, »
I doubt it Bob

Offline tbone321

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 4011
Re: Bobcat DMX tester won't do... Anything?
« Reply #7 on: April 12, 2012, »
You will not hurt it, it just won't do anything.
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline crazybob

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
Re: Bobcat DMX tester won't do... Anything?
« Reply #8 on: April 12, 2012, »
So am i programming each of the 3 chips in the tester? if so, I only see one tester firmware file in the wiki. Would i use the same file for each?

Offline tbone321

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 4011
Re: Bobcat DMX tester won't do... Anything?
« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2012, »
No, you are only programming the PIC (the long one) and you can program it using the boards ICSP header on the testers board.  Now if you are usingwireless then you will probably need to program that chip as well but it uses different firmware.
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline crazybob

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
Re: Bobcat DMX tester won't do... Anything?
« Reply #10 on: April 12, 2012, »
IT'S ALIVE!!!
And it works perfectly. Thanks for all the help.