Author Topic: SSC Coop kits, Explanation please?  (Read 2476 times)

Offline randyy

SSC Coop kits, Explanation please?
« on: April 17, 2012, »
Okay, I'm a newbie and want to do a megatree with 16 SSCs.  I think I understand that I'll need one active 16 port hub and 16 SSCs, but the other options (passive 16, passive 4, and combiner) have me stumped.  The Wiki just has placeholders for their "function and use".

So, my question is, what are these other kit items and why would I salivate over them?  Advantages / disadvantages?

Offline rrowan

• Administrator
Re: SSC Coop kits, Explanation please?
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2012, »
16 port passive hub is the little bother to the 16 port active hub. Major difference is the passive hub does NOT have the DMX output
4 port passive hub is designed to extend one cat5 cable from the 16 port active. example you have 3 items a distance away from the active hub. Instead of running 4 cables you can use the 4 port hub and one cable then split out the signal at the distance items. Also it needs a power supply at the 4 port hub.
Combiner is really only need if you want to use 4 USB dongles to run to one cat5 cable to either another combiner or a 16 port active hub.

hope that helps

Rick R.
Light Animation Hobby - Having fun and Learning at the same time. (21st member of DLA)
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
Warning SOME assembly required

Offline randyy

« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2012, »
That helps a lot!  Thanks.

Offline taybrynn

• RockinChristmas
SSC Coop kits, Explanation please?
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2012, »
I think unless your doing four Dmx dongles, skip the combiner.  A combiner and splitter allows you to put up to four pixelnet universes on a single cat5 and then break them back out as needed ... Say each to its own active hub.