Author Topic: SSR v3 PCBs  (Read 4586 times)

Offline taybrynn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2031
    • RockinChristmas
SSR v3 PCBs
« Reply #15 on: September 02, 2013, »
Thanks, it appears the 3 remaining transformers I have match the v3 ssr4 board pin out (6 pin) ... I guess I need to swap my v2 boards for v3 or swap transformers.
Scott - Castle Rock, Colorado   [ 2 homes, 100% RGB in 2016; since 2008; over 32k channels of E1.31 ]
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline dmaccole

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 758
    • PacificaLights.info
Re: SSR v3 PCBs
« Reply #16 on: September 02, 2013, »
Scott:

The board redesign was specifically done because of the end of life on the four-pin, blue Pulse transformers.

If you have the six-pin Hammond transformer, you need the v3 boards.

Do not try to use the v2 boards with the v3 BOM.

HTH.

\dmc
________________________
The only thing more dangerous than a software engineer with a soldering iron or a hardware engineer with a compiler is a liberal-arts major with either.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline taybrynn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2031
    • RockinChristmas
SSR v3 PCBs
« Reply #17 on: September 02, 2013, »
Wow, wish I knew that earlier.

I already have two v2 boards almost done ... Using the wrong parts.

So are you saying it won't work ?
Scott - Castle Rock, Colorado   [ 2 homes, 100% RGB in 2016; since 2008; over 32k channels of E1.31 ]
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline taybrynn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2031
    • RockinChristmas
SSR v3 PCBs
« Reply #18 on: September 02, 2013, »
I had two blue transformers and three of the six pin transformers. 

I started the two with the blue transformers but otherwise with latest BoM parts.
Scott - Castle Rock, Colorado   [ 2 homes, 100% RGB in 2016; since 2008; over 32k channels of E1.31 ]
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline dmaccole

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 758
    • PacificaLights.info
Re: SSR v3 PCBs
« Reply #19 on: September 04, 2013, »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
So are you saying it won't work ?

No, I'm just saying I wouldn't recommend using v3 BOM parts on a v2 board.

I haven't done a component-by-component comparison to determine why some pieces were changed (i.e.: Functionally the same but a better price? An attempt to standardize parts across projects?).

I'm hoping RJ will step in here and give you a definitive answer.

\dmc
________________________
The only thing more dangerous than a software engineer with a soldering iron or a hardware engineer with a compiler is a liberal-arts major with either.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline RJ

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8507
Re: SSR v3 PCBs
« Reply #20 on: September 04, 2013, »
The transformer was no longer avaliable so we had to chage it. In the process I changed the Voltage regulator to allow it to drop out at a lower voltage so we did not have the issues with running high loads on long cords we saw in some cases.

I believe the pin out of the regulators are different if I am remembering correctly so you must use the correct Voltage regulator on the correct version. The transformers will not interchange either.

RJ
Innovation beats imitation - and it's more satisfying

Offline taybrynn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2031
    • RockinChristmas
Re: SSR v3 PCBs
« Reply #21 on: September 04, 2013, »
Thanks RJ (and everyone else for that matter).  Sorry that its taken me this long to "get it".

I think if I will use (2) of my old v2 boards with the (2) blue transformers I have (matches v2 transformer pinout) ... and then acquire a 7805 voltage regulator to match the v2 transformer.  I'm assuming the other part changes are not significant.

I have ordered some v3 boards (3), and already have (3) v3 transformers -- so those should work with the v3 BOM parts I already have.
Scott - Castle Rock, Colorado   [ 2 homes, 100% RGB in 2016; since 2008; over 32k channels of E1.31 ]
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline dmaccole

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 758
    • PacificaLights.info
Re: SSR v3 PCBs
« Reply #22 on: September 05, 2013, »
Scott:

Glad it all worked out.

\dmc
________________________
The only thing more dangerous than a software engineer with a soldering iron or a hardware engineer with a compiler is a liberal-arts major with either.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline taybrynn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2031
    • RockinChristmas
Re: SSR v3 PCBs
« Reply #23 on: November 23, 2013, »
Ok, I'm putting these v2 ssr4 together a
With the 7805 regs and the old blue transformer.

I have the new part df01m 1amp 100volt and the
Old bom used a df005m 1amp 50volt bridge rectifier.

Can I use the 100 volt or should I get the df005m instead?
Scott - Castle Rock, Colorado   [ 2 homes, 100% RGB in 2016; since 2008; over 32k channels of E1.31 ]
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline dmaccole

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 758
    • PacificaLights.info
Re: SSR v3 PCBs
« Reply #24 on: November 23, 2013, »
I believe that the new component is more tolerant (it does 100 volts) than the old component (it only does 50 volts). I think in the world of bridge rectifiers, you can always have more tolerance but never less.

I would say the new component is fine on the old board.

\dmc
________________________
The only thing more dangerous than a software engineer with a soldering iron or a hardware engineer with a compiler is a liberal-arts major with either.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline taybrynn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2031
    • RockinChristmas
Re: SSR v3 PCBs
« Reply #25 on: November 23, 2013, »
Thanks again! 

 <fp. I just royally messed up and destroyed my v2 boards in the process.  <fp.

Luckily I still have the v3 boards and the correct parts for those.  oh brother
that v2 was a nightmare I'll want to forget soon -- this is my first kit failure -- lol

 <md..

I put the 7805 in the wrong spot (the board doesn't label the triacs vs. volt reg
and STUPID me ... I put them in wrong places, then destroyed the board moving them.
Oh well, I learned my lesson ... how embarassing
« Last Edit: November 23, 2013, by taybrynn »
Scott - Castle Rock, Colorado   [ 2 homes, 100% RGB in 2016; since 2008; over 32k channels of E1.31 ]
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline dmaccole

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 758
    • PacificaLights.info
Re: SSR v3 PCBs
« Reply #26 on: November 23, 2013, »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
I put the 7805 in the wrong spot (the board doesn't label the triacs vs. volt reg
and STUPID me ... I put them in wrong places, then destroyed the board moving them.
Oh well, I learned my lesson ... how embarassing

Yes, could happen to anyone ... I was de-soldering a couple of components both yesterday and today for dumb mistakes.

\dmc
________________________
The only thing more dangerous than a software engineer with a soldering iron or a hardware engineer with a compiler is a liberal-arts major with either.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline taybrynn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2031
    • RockinChristmas
Re: SSR v3 PCBs
« Reply #27 on: November 26, 2013, »
Well today I outdid myself, I knocked something over on my desk which knocked something else over, which knocked my coffee cup over, which then poured coffee into a power up ssr4 that I was trying to program the start channel for.  Talked about nutty stupid stuff ... omg, I'm cursed with the ssr4 for some reason.
Scott - Castle Rock, Colorado   [ 2 homes, 100% RGB in 2016; since 2008; over 32k channels of E1.31 ]
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline JoeFromOzarks

  • Patron Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
Re: SSR v3 PCBs
« Reply #28 on: November 26, 2013, »
Don't feel too bad.  I sat on my first Active Hub and cracked it in half.   (I sat on a LE4 too.)   Now I check where I'm about to sit before I sit.   :)

(Can you drown the SSR4 in 91% alcohol?)

:) joe
"If it was easy, everybody would be doin' it!!!"        :)

Offline tbone321

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 4011
Re: SSR v3 PCBs
« Reply #29 on: November 26, 2013, »
I think that it was poweed up while it was introduced to coffee which indocated that the magic smoke was probably released.
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving