Author Topic: noob programming question  (Read 2083 times)

Offline lucky2710

noob programming question
« on: September 11, 2012, »
I am new to all of this and am just trying to get all of my ducks in a row. I just ordered all of my parts for the DMX Lynx USB Dongle. And I am in the coop for the lynx express but the current open coop doesn't come with the PIC programmed. SO When i get everything and it all put together I'm going to have to program it all. So I see that I can use a pickit2 or picket 3 programmer to get it all setup.

My question is does it matter which programmer i should buy? is the anything better about one over the other?
And also there are different versions of each available like pickit2 starter kit or development kit. ect. Which one will I need?

Thanks,
Tyler
« Last Edit: September 11, 2012, by lucky2710 »

Offline peteandvanessa

Re: noob programming question
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2012, »
Get the PicKit 3, since the PicKit 2 doesn't support some of the more advanced PICs we are using (e.g. PicKit3 supports a wider range of Pic and it supports programming of the Etherdongle chip, the PicKit 2 doesn't)

Offline onesmoothhead

• Listen to the Lights New Mexico
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2012, »
The Picket3 is the one you will want if you are going to go to SSC. You will also need it for the Eithernet Dongle. I own both, but I use the 3 more than my 2. I hope this helps. Look at the full kit J1sys.  I have it and you will need part of it for your PIC on the dongle. Link provided:

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline TexasStingray

• Coop Manager
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2012, »
Also, some of the members are willing to program picks for members, I'm not sure where the list of these members are but I'm sure someone will post the link.
Scott Wanner
TX

Watch my videos

sjb

« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2012, »
Here is the link from the Wiki

Offline jnealand

• Patron Member