Author Topic: Cascading Snowflakes  (Read 9677 times)

Offline UncleBuck

Cascading Snowflakes
« on: September 26, 2012, »
This is my first year and I have incorporated 14 cascading snowflakes into my display. I had 14 incandescent rope light snowflakes on order from Novelty Lights and they just informed me that they will not be receiving snowflakes from their manufacture this year. Does anybody know how to build rope light snowflakes and make them look nice. Any suggestions on what I could replace the snowflakes with. They are a cool part of the display and I would hate to just cut them out of the songs.

Offline Mike Hill

• Here to learn
Re: Cascading Snowflakes
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2012, »
I bought some wire snowflakes with a rubber/plastic coating on them from Home Depot last year.  I was planning on zip tieing LED rope lights around them but will not have time to do that this year.  I'm sure Home Depot will carry them again this year; select stores.
Mike Hill
First display date 11-2011
"Never explain your actions, your enemies don't believe it and your friends don't need it."

Offline therealbigjim

« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2012, »
Last year I made stars from 1/4 round stock and rope lights.  The way I made up the sizes was by how often you can cut the rope light. If you can cut the rope light every 18" and have a 5 pointed star (10 sides) you would divide the rope light by 10. 18" is kind of small so I started with 36"/10=3.6" a side.... also you can get coro from Lowe's or home depot and make a snow flake cut out. On a peace of scrap coro drill holes until you find the good size hole for a mini incan or led and poke it through the hole.  If you look on my veimo page you will see my Merry Christmas letters. They are coro with 200 lights in each letter. I got the coro from a sign shop, they were misprint signs they were going to throw away.... 
"If you want more lights sell that old mustang"