Author Topic: Possible Firmware Update  (Read 3016 times)

Offline tbone321

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3984
Possible Firmware Update
« on: September 27, 2012, »
Is there any possibility in the future of changing the firmware to have the device start on channel 1 when it powers up instead of 225.  Most of the time when I use it, I am testing a newly built device and they are almost always on starting channel 1 at that point.  It really gets to be a pain in the butt to have to spin it back down to 1 from 225 every time I want to use it.  This is not critical by any means but it would be a help in the future.
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline bisquit476

  • Patron Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 873
Re: Possible Firmware Update
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2012, »
Hi tbone,

Here is how I addressed this during the beta, I felt the same way as you on the start channel,

1) As the tester starts up on channel 256, the 1/2 way point by design, I recommend for a first time startup to set your controller to start address 256 so you know immediately after you turn it on in wired mode if the tester is working.

Offline tbone321

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3984
Re: Possible Firmware Update
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2012, »
That kinda kills the purpose of the tester in my opinion.  In order for me to change the start address, I would need to connect the device to a dongle and start up some software to set the start channel.  If I already have the device connected to a dongle and software running that is putting out DMX, what would be the purpose of then connecting it to another one such as the tester since the Dongle would already be giving out the signal requred for testing.  The point of using the tester for me is to aviod setting up hardware and software for start channel changes until I have confirmed that the device(s) is/are working to begin with and since most if not all of the current DMX firmware is set with a default start address of one, wouldn't it also make sense to start the tester there as well? 
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline egenoup

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 359
Re: Possible Firmware Update
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2012, »
Maybe if it started on the channel it was on the last time it was turned off....

my 2c

Offline rm357

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1282
  • 31088
Possible Firmware Update
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2012, »
The point of the tester is to have something that you can use outside setting up the display and troubleshooting problems. Times when something handheld is a lot more convenient than juggling a laptop and dongle...

There was talk of adding an addressing mode that would support addresses above 255, but the developer of the tester has had to step back for a while... You can use the tester as-is for setting addresses 1-255 by setting channel 1 to a value = the start channel you want, then follow the normal procedure at the DMX device.
Robert
Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

Offline rm357

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1282
  • 31088
Possible Firmware Update
« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2012, »
If you think the tester is such a terrible device and the purpose of it has been killed for you, why don't you offer it for sale. There are a lot of folks here that would love to have one...

Sorry, I couldn't resist a little dig there :)
Robert
Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

Offline tbone321

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3984
Re: Possible Firmware Update
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2012, »
I never said that it was a bad device in any way but to return the dig, having it start at channel 225 is probably the worst possible channel to have it start at.  It is in the middle of nowhere and the farthest possible position from either 1 or ALL which IMHO would be the two most often used positions.  Wouldn't you want it on channel 1 to use it to set the start address?  I'm not trying to insult anyone or to say that the device is not usable because it is.  It would just be more efficient and reduce wear on the unit if the starting address was more in the range of common use.
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline rrowan

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5893
  • 08096
Re: Possible Firmware Update
« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2012, »
like 17?  >:D

Rick R.
Light Animation Hobby - Having fun and Learning at the same time. (21st member of DLA)
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
Warning SOME assembly required

Offline RJ

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8507
Re: Possible Firmware Update
« Reply #8 on: September 28, 2012, »
Ok I am not going to keep warning people on these post. Everyone is free to their opions but not to getting into it with each other. A user has recommended a change he thinks would improve the item. The person that made it will or will not change it. That is their choice.

Comments like
Quote
That kinda kills the purpose of the tester in my opinion.

And

Quote
If you think the tester is such a terrible device and the purpose of it has been killed for you, why don't you offer it for sale.

is not hepful and causes this kind of thread on the downward hill issue!

It is an opinion, it was offered. If others have others have other opinions they can say. But members are not going to be allowed to get into it everytime someone posts something contary to their opinions.


RJ

Innovation beats imitation - and it's more satisfying

Offline tbone321

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3984
Re: Possible Firmware Update
« Reply #9 on: September 28, 2012, »
I understand your reasoning here RJ and do my best to avoid (pardon the language) pissin contests but I think that you misunderstood one of my posts.  When I said "That kinda kills the purpose of the tester" I was not referring to the tester, I was referring to the other users suggestion that I set all of the devices to channel 225 before connecting them to the tester.  It wasn't even an attack on that poster either.  I was simply explaining that if I take the time to connect the device up to a dongle and set up software to change the channel before using the tester, then I really don't need to use the tester at all for the purpose I intended to use it for which is a quick easy way to make sure that the device is working BEFORE I attempt to configure it.  Changing the starup channel to 1 was just a suggestion and was not intended to offend anyone and I'm sorry if it did.
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline rm357

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1282
  • 31088
Possible Firmware Update
« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2012, »
I apologize for my remark, i knew it would generate an emotional response.
I felt that the phrase "kills it for me" was a pretty strong emotional remark for a minor annoyance on a very handy device.

One advantage to the address starting at 256 is that you know for certain that the switch is set to address mode as 256 is not a valid data value.

Personally I think starting with the "all" channel selection and a data value of 0 is a better starting option.
All channels doesn't care if you set the address wrong on a device you are testing
0 or "off" doesn't leave you seeing spots if the aether you are testing is powered up when you plug in the tester

This is a great group to be a part of with many innovative, easy to build, and fun to use devices. We should encourage folks to put new stuff out and offer ideas for improvement. But always remember, it's hard to tell in written text when you are kidding around or serious...

RM
Robert
Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

Offline bisquit476

  • Patron Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 873
Re: Possible Firmware Update
« Reply #11 on: September 28, 2012, »
Just for the record, I didn't take offense to the comment.

Offline n1ist

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 760
  • 02148
Re: Possible Firmware Update
« Reply #12 on: September 29, 2012, »
I can't find my tester to try it out, and it's my first attempt playing with mplab, but here's a hex file that should start at channel 1.  Let me know if it works.
/mike

Offline tbone321

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3984
Re: Possible Firmware Update
« Reply #13 on: September 30, 2012, »
I loaded the new firmware and it came up on channel 2, LOL.  That is good enough for me.  Thank you for doing that as it really makes using the tester all taht much easier for what I'm curretly using it to do.  It is a great device made even better (or at least easier to use).
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline mokeefe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 508
Re: Possible Firmware Update
« Reply #14 on: September 30, 2012, »
Yep, got the same results as tbone with the new firmware.  Looks like Mike had a 50-50 chance on whether the channel numbering was ones-based or zero-based.  Should be a quick fix if he's so inclined.

-Mike