Author Topic: Cat 5e splitter. Will this work?  (Read 1569 times)

Offline sittinguphigh

Cat 5e splitter. Will this work?
« on: October 17, 2012, »
If I use this 5e spitter. Can I induct power into the SSC cable?
This will be used to bring power into the SSC.
Will there be any feed back problem?

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

« Last Edit: October 17, 2012, by sittinguphigh »
What you don't know. Can hurt you.

Offline jnealand

• Patron Member
Re: Cat 5e splitter. Will this work?
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2012, »
I'm not an expert, but I expect that if you tried that you would also get 12v feedback into a cable you don't want it on.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA

Offline chrisatpsu

• ahhh, yes... my new blink-i-nator 3000!!!
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2012, »
this is better for you, and only uses about $7.39 worth of parts (plus 3 for the board)

take the cost and divide it by the 4 outputs and it's about the same price per string as what you were looking at, plus it works once assembled, is supported here in case something goes wrong, and doesn't need to be modified to work correctly for your use.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2012, by chrisatpsu »
To rule the entire tri-state area!  What's that? Perry the Platypus!!!

Offline rm357

« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2012, »
For what you want to do, you need to either make a custom cable or use the passive hub.

Custom cable:

You need several pieces of Ethernet cable, one short (~6 inches) and the other pieces long enough to make it to where you plan to have the SSCs on your horse. Strip back about 6 inches of the outer insulation on each piece of wire. Untwist enough of the orange-white/orange pair to strip a half inch and connect all of the orange wires together as one group and all of the white/orange wires together as a separate group. Do not untwist more than a couple of inches if at all possible. Cover the connections with electrical tape or heat shrink tubing.