Author Topic: Updated mod for SSC  (Read 7885 times)

Offline sittinguphigh

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 679
Re: Updated mod for SSC
« Reply #30 on: November 20, 2012, »
So is it 220 ohm or 330 ohm. The instruction says if new us 330 ohm.

Mort
What you don't know. Can hurt you.

Offline chrisatpsu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3726
  • ahhh, yes... my new blink-i-nator 3000!!!
Re: Updated mod for SSC
« Reply #31 on: November 20, 2012, »
If you have.something laying around in that range, go ahead and use it. If you're going to place an order, get 330.
To rule the entire tri-state area!  What's that? Perry the Platypus!!!

Offline mitch09

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 420
Re: Updated mod for SSC
« Reply #32 on: November 20, 2012, »
A quick question. I have 16 Ver1 SSC that already have a 330ohm as the top resistor. I had soldered another 330 onto the bottom as per earlier instructions. With the Ver. 3 mod do I just unsolder or cut off the 330 that I soldered onto the bottom?

Thanks,

Ryan

Offline chrisatpsu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3726
  • ahhh, yes... my new blink-i-nator 3000!!!
Re: Updated mod for SSC
« Reply #33 on: November 20, 2012, »
if you have 2 330ohm resistors on the same spot of the board (usually one on top, and one added later on bottom), remove one
To rule the entire tri-state area!  What's that? Perry the Platypus!!!

Offline mitch09

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 420
Updated mod for SSC
« Reply #34 on: November 21, 2012, »
Will do. Thanks

Offline mokeefe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 508
Re: Updated mod for SSC
« Reply #35 on: November 21, 2012, »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
If you have.something laying around in that range, go ahead and use it. If you're going to place an order, get 330.

Chris,

Just curious on what criteria you are basing your recommendation of 330 ohms over 220?

-Mike

Offline chrisatpsu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3726
  • ahhh, yes... my new blink-i-nator 3000!!!
Re: Updated mod for SSC
« Reply #36 on: November 21, 2012, »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
Chris,

Just curious on what criteria you are basing your recommendation of 330 ohms over 220?

-Mike

from page 2 of the document in the first post of this thread.

Quote
Once this is complete you may want to change the top resistor to in the range of 220 - 330 ohms. It will work with others that we have used but you will find this to be the best area to use.  330ohm is the one to use if you are building new.
To rule the entire tri-state area!  What's that? Perry the Platypus!!!

Offline tbone321

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3993
Re: Updated mod for SSC
« Reply #37 on: November 21, 2012, »
Either resistor will work but since they are actually current limiter resistors, the 330 ohm resistor will be easier on the PIC.
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline hicksjo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 138
Re: Updated mod for SSC
« Reply #38 on: November 24, 2012, »
I did the mod on 4 v2 sscs ... Used dremel cutoff wheel to cut the trace which worked very well, did very little collateral damage to the board

Used 24 ga wire as jumper and 330 ohm resistor

All 4 worked great with v3 test and standard firmware

Thanks RJ for the efforts and continuous improvements

Offline davron12

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 90
Re: Updated mod for SSC
« Reply #39 on: November 26, 2012, »
I used one of the diamond engraving bits on the dremel. It was more precise and worked great without accidentally nicking other traces. Took a couple of seconds per board.

Offline loveroflife96

  • Coop Manager
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 427
  • Brandon Christmas 2010
    • My Christmas Display Website
Re: Updated mod for SSC
« Reply #40 on: December 07, 2012, »
If I knew how to, I would, but could someone please put the updated software SSC utility link in the wiki?  I built another EtD and programmed my Etd, SSC, and Active HUB probably 20 times in the last two days and couldn't figure out why it wouldn't program with the utility until I remembered reading something about a different utility when doing the v3 modification for SSC....I switched over to that program and it worked like a charm...may help save someone else some headaches....

Thanks...Duane

Offline chrisatpsu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3726
  • ahhh, yes... my new blink-i-nator 3000!!!
Re: Updated mod for SSC
« Reply #41 on: December 07, 2012, »
the software is already in the wiki.

first, you install the software in the red circle.

then, you overwrite the file you download in the blue circle

To rule the entire tri-state area!  What's that? Perry the Platypus!!!