Author Topic: GFI Tripping  (Read 997 times)

Offline mikedbom

• NorthBridge Web Design
GFI Tripping
« on: December 17, 2012, »
My two outdoor outlets have a common GFI located in our upstairs bathroom. It kept popping today and I was able to narrow it down to my gutter lights which are 4 strands of C9 LED's. I have one LE on the GFI circuit and with those C9's plugged into the LE, it would trip. So I moved the lights to my other LE that isn't on a GFI circuit but rather a surge protector and had no issues. I checked the cord and lights for grounds but there were none. My question is what would cause the GFI to trip if there wasn't a ground. Would too much current do it?  And is 4 LED strings enough current to trip?

Thanks.

Offline johno123

Re: GFI Tripping
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2012, »
I'm no electrician - but I have noticed that if I had a GFI circuit that was close to the amp limit for the breaker, then it seemed to be more likely to trip - regardless if it was raining or what type of equipment that I have on that circuit. 

My advice is to invest in a kill-a-watt and carefully measure everything on each circuit from your panel in your house.  Add em up, and make that sure that you are about 70% of the total capacity of that circuit breaker (Please folks, let me know if there is a different capacity that you use or if there is some electrical code reference that we should use instead)

Then, if you are still getting blown GFI's with your equipment track down if something is shorting or freyed.  GFI pops are annoying but should be taken seriously.  However - after I re-wrired my LE's to balance the load across more outlets then all my GFI pops have gone away. 

-John

Offline mikedbom

• NorthBridge Web Design
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2012, »