Author Topic: Design and test rig - intermediate between Vixen and full setup  (Read 1320 times)

Offline ghethco

Just wondering if anyone uses an intermediate test rig.  What I mean is something between Vixen and the final setup outdoors.  Does anyone do this?  It seems like it will be hard to visualize and test an entire display, controllers and sequences using Vixen alone.  Also, not really practical to set up an outdoor display until shortly before you plan to start shows.

I'm just getting started.  I have done some basic sequencing in Vixen.   I have a LE and USB dongle, it all seems to work.  Just wondering if it's worth the time to set up, say, a big board with actual lights on it to test the whole rig.

I realize that light normalization may need to be done with the final setup.  I just don't think I want to wait until November to do a full "all-singing all-dancing" test of the entire system.

Gary

Offline kgustafson

• Coop Manager
    • Lost Weekend Productions
Short answer for me is :  No.  You can use the Visualizers in Vixen to get a pretty good idea of what your lights look like overall.  The only thing I bench test is individual elements that I am working on (aka my mega tree, my arches, etc. )  But never do I test all my elements connected to my workbench as a whole.  Of course, this is just one way to do testing.

Kurt
------
Visit at: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline Gary

• Diamond Crescent
I did all my channel normalization one controller at a time pre-season in the basement with the type of strings I was going to use (thankfully I don't have that many different types--and they all happened to look best with the same normalization option).